Is your purse looking like a garbage dump?

It has been waaaaay too long since I sat down to write a post. And, I am so excited to say I  have two new patterns that released last week– my first table runner pattern and a new cross-body bag.  You can take a peek at the  Flower Power Table Runner and The Olivia Bag  on my website.  More on that soon!

Back to the topic at hand. Does your purse look like a garbage dump? You know, it starts out okay. You make a brand new purse, with all those great pockets, one for your phone, one for your keys, one for a pen or two, a pocket for your sunglasses. That should take care of it, right?

And it does for awhile. But over time is another matter . . . .

So, what clutters it the most?

For me, it’s kleenex, receipts, and shopping lists and other notes.  How about you?

This post is first of a “series” of posts covering small projects you can make to make the inside of your purse look as amazing as the outside.

First on the list is a kleenex holder. I initially was going to design a little kleenex holder but I found a tutorial on the web that is just amazing and exactly what I wanted so I started just sewing!

Kleenex holder

Kleenex holder

This tissue holder tutorial  is from Barb – I don’t know Barb, but I love her Halloween and Christmas kleenex holders and her instructions are easy to follow. This is a quick project, great for gifts.

***UPDATE*** Please note that I changed Barb’s directions a bit to make the tissue holder you see in the picture.  I used a 5-1/2″ x 8″ piece of fabric for the interior and a 5-1/2″  x 7″ piece of fabric for the exterior.

 

Being cheap frugal at our house–and for convenience–I just grabbed 10 tissues and folded them myself. Easy!

Kleenex Holder - pile of tissues

Kleenex Holder – pile of tissues

Just fold the kleenex tissue in half along the crease, then fold two more times.

Fold kleenex

Fold kleenex

Next up will be a tutorial for a receipt holder to keep all those holiday receipts from taking over your purse.

Receipt case

Receipt case

Leave a comment about what makes your purse messy. I would love to hear from you.

Happy Sewing!

Lisa

3 thoughts on “Is your purse looking like a garbage dump?

  1. Pingback: Working on . . . Stocking Stuffers | Around the Bobbin Sewing Patterns

  2. Pingback: Working on . . . Stocking Stuffers

  3. wonderful post, very informative. I wonder why the other
    experts of this sector don’t notice this. You should continue your writing.
    I’m sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!

Whatcha thinking? Leave a Reply

